Home » Small Hand Tools » Life Changes

Life Changes

My life has been so active all of my 76 years. Lots of happy and unfortunately too many sadness. Pleasantly, I’m entering perhaps the best times of my life. I reconnected with a girlfriend I was fond of since we were 10 years old. I dated her once before we graduated from high school and did not know much about her till 2 weeks ago. She visited my Classmates profile but did not leave a comment. I wrote asking if she was the same Paulette I new in Artesia, NM as kids. She responded she was, and we began to communicate by phone and messages. Some of the phone calls lasted as long as 9-1/2 hours… We arranged for me to visit on September 5, two days. The day I returned to my home, she called and invited me to the Sunday services at her church. I ended up coming on Thursday and stayed until yesterday. Countless phone visits in between and endless during my visit.

Well, we both never ever forgot about the other, wondering all of those 58 years during our own separate lives. This past Sunday night we talked till after 1 am Monday. I proposed. She accepted. Monday we visited a number of her friends in Roswell to announce our arrangement and to introduce me to them. Without exception, every single one was so complimentary and encouraging. What a welcome to me!

Yesterday morning, Tuesday, we had lunch in Roswell and then walked across the street to a fine jeweler and picked out our wedding rings. The lady asked if we wanted to see engagement rings, and Paulette told her we skipped that part. Her ring is really spectacular! They will be ready Monday. I’m returning tomorrow, Thursday, for several days. A dear friend is visiting Wednesday/Thursday and so wants to meet Paulette. So we’ll be here for that and have time to decide what we want to move to Roswell. There is very little I want. Her home is beautiful and my decorations will compliment some. It’s a mutual arrangement.

So, yes, many changes taking place. Our ceremony will be brief and very small, and very soon, perhaps next week. As we set off on our new chapter of life we’re so profoundly in love and will greatly enjoy the life we create together. Thanks to all of those who have been encouraging me to return to the human race for the past several months.

Jim

6 thoughts on “Life Changes

  1. Oh, Jim! I am so happy for you and Paulette! Wishing you a wonderful life together and many lovely memories! Congratulations to both of you! ❤️💐❤️

  2. Congratulations and the very best of wishes to you both! I love this photo of you—the joy radiates from both of your magnificent smiles. We look forward to meeting Paulette one day in the future. Much love to you both. ♥️♥️♥️

  3. Dear Jim and Paulette ~ You both radiate happiness!
    This photo makes my heart sing with delight for you both.
    Cheers and all the best!

    From the Payette River Wildlife Canyon Scenic Byway ID

Leave a comment