Home » Small Hand Tools » Dreams Lost

Dreams Lost

My dreams of catching seem to be gone forever – business has been completely overwhelming – and the end is not in sight. Cat’s been helping all morning every day – she’s getting so good on the band saw, router tables, and sanders (both the 6×48’s and 4×36’s). Next will be the scroll saw – she’s determined! Like on the router table, it took her a bit to make friends with it – she said she would NOT be defeated by a machine… I’m so proud of her! Jericho is now doing all of my finishing and working on LOTS of sanding. Other tasks may develop – several times in the past few days all 3 of us were working on different sanders!
So many things are in-progress – tiny stick shuttles, needlesticks, tiny beaters, tiny turned beaters, lucets, custom range of tools for a commercial shop, #6 original looms in exotics, boat shuttles, EOW’s, and so much more. Today I had a box go out with 30 #2 fringe twisters, and another with the last 6 of my mini-squirrel cage winders. I’m OUT of several items and replacements are in the plans. For the moment, I’m just keeping my nose above the water line, but not sure for how long….

 

I will be reissuing my price list very soon – with regret some items will be raising. I’ll do it prospectively – and will announce the effective date soon publishing the price list a couple of weeks or so before it’s effective. I’ll honor existing prices for orders received before the new price list becomes effective. I’m so sorry to raise prices any amount, but business dictates I do so.
I have an outstanding stock of exotics – today unloaded the truck with another very large stash. So, all of these tools in-progress and planned are supported with ready exotic and domestic stock.
SNOW a few times in the past week or so – not much, just a couple of inches, but simple precipitation is so appreciated. The freezing temperatures and exceptional winds can take a hike, though.

Another dream lost seems to be my son moving up and taking my business.  I can only presume he had just rather continue whatever he’s doing in San Antonio.  I will miss that forever.  Quite sadly, too………………….
Later, Jim

3 thoughts on “Dreams Lost

  1. Good morning. Please tell Cat she’ll LOVE the scroll saw. I am a 63 year old woman. Woodworking for the past 30 years. It is my favorite tool. My husband was a carver and we made and sold wooden toys to put our son through school. The scroll saw is my go-to tool even now. I love fretwork the most. It is so much safer than the bandsaw! I found that to be a scary tool. Good luck with all. I so love the exotics! Wondering about how to get your price list?

Leave a Reply

