Home » Small Hand Tools » My June

My June

Well, here I am letting myself be so busy that I don’t post for a month….. It’s been one of those. Cat’s help in the shop has been fantastic! So much more productive because of her! She’s still weaving and shipping everywhere, too. I’ve made perhaps 2000 looms, countless tools, and so much more this month. In the next few days I’ll be refinishing the big run of Nottles. Many will be going to the Taos Museum of Art gift shop and the Harwood Museum of Art gift shop – it’s been awhile since they both have asked for replacement stock. I’m so blessed and Honored, too!
Cat and I made a rather large arbor over two block pedestals at our entrance. The vines are growing well now and look super! Very recently we made a pair of gates for that entrance. The frames are square steel tubing – and a spider web radiates from the bottom center…. Remarkable! I’ll be adding a couple of very large Black Widow spiders to each side. I have the very unusual and special material for them now – and can hardly wait! Photos to come! Just yesterday we mounted steel letters and numbers representing our address to a very old, weathered, rough board about 9′ long – this was mounted to our center gate to our property. More photos to come! Cat has worked so hard to make the gated entrance to our home safe for a little dog. We’re looking now and have not yet found the right rescue. Having a little buddy in our lives has been awhile coming again after losing Jake a few years ago. Cat’s garden started fine – but has sorta taken pause on growth…. Just not our year I guess.
Today we spent in Albuquerque for many errands. Gathering supplies and equipment for projects is important. Lunch at the Cheesecake Factory was a highlight! We did get materials to make our property safe from jumping dogs. Friends will install the fencing to prevent one bold and destructive/dangerous dog from getting in. It’s also to make safe for our new little dog to come. I will not permit it or us to be endangered by such a pest…..
We’ve not ridden a lot. Cat’s trike had a transmission issue and has been in the shop for a bit. It’s ready today – so we go with the trailer to pick it up Saturday very early. Rich at Crossroads in Rio Rancho has installed radically reliable clutch/linkage to prevent the same shifting problem from recurring. What a marvelous person!
The Corvette is a POS. Both General Motors in the sky an Reliable Chevy simply refuse to fix it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am profoundly disgusted and sad and insulted all in one. Cat is counseling me to just make the best, but it’s tough to look at it that way when we have spent such a large amount then be treated like crap and lied to. I encourage anyone seeing this to avoid General Motors products, Chevy in particular, and Corvettes absolutely. I am very deeply saddened – I had wanted a Corvette since seeing the very first one in 1953. The Silverado is in the same POS status…………………… How can corporations get away with this sort of behavior? I won’t write what I believe the reason IS.
Some rain around! It’s been so long that have about forgotten what it’s about. Our last real precipitation was December 26 with almost three FEET of snow….
We stay so busy, by choice, and appreciate the life we have. I wish every person reading this blog to have the same outlook. I thank every person who’s been enjoying the fruit of my artistic labor….
Jim

One thought on “My June

  1. As usual I so enjoy your updates and it sounds like a busy, busy time for you. I have been weaving using the yarns from the Churro Club from Southwest Weaving. They are hand dyed and fabulous! Also I have taken an interest in trying my hand at Huichol beading. What fun this is and I am trying to be as authentic as I can by blowing out my eggs and dtrying them on yuccas. Great fun! More later~

Leave a Reply

