Home » Small Hand Tools » Little Boxes

Little Boxes

AFAF 13 004
I’m in the process of a run making many small notion boxes. They are such fun to produce – mixing woods and colors, shapes and sizes. Today I cut select pieces of Afzelia Burl, Spalted Pecan, bloodwood, Black Pashaka, Limoncillo, Olive, Bird’s Eye Maple, and others. Tomorrow I’ll continue this run and begin assembly. I’ve picked only two pieces for tops. One board of Bird’s Eye Maple had a bark inclusion running thru the board. I removed the loose bark then split the piece. It’s about the perfect size for two of my notion boxes! I filled the voice with good clear epoxy (System Three) and New Mexico Turquoise nuggets. They all are gonna be fantastic, I know.

We delivered “The Old Buzzard” to Chuck in Albuquerque. He’s started the repairs and I hope to have it back within a couple of weeks or so. I’m having Chuck do a couple of other things while it’s in his hands – one is a powerful horn to replace the little “meep meep” version installed on most new bikes. It will not be quite as loud as the “Beast” horn on my truck – it’s a train air horn that is ultra loud! I’ve had trains answer twice when traveling! I’ve decided to delay converting my bike to a trike. I’ve only had my bike for a year, much of that time it sat idle due to my surgeries and other physical limitations. To relieve the stress of not having it home, Cat and I shared driving her Harley trike – “Bear” – to Socorro and back for lunch at “The Hat”. I had not driven her trike at highway speed – and the sensation took about 5 miles to get used to. Then, when I relaxed a bit it just tracked and rode perfectly. I even got good at shifting and maintaining a straight track…. I may not ever “trike” my Big Dog, but for now it will not be a “Three Legged Dog”….

SOOOO many of my little looms in progress. Good progress, too. The little tools are going well also. I continue to pull, pack, and mail orders too. Today I had a request for a bench – and fortune has it that I have many already in stock. I will NOT be doing Kid ‘N Ewe nor any other shows. The physical stress on my very tired old body limits such activity. I’ll miss visiting with many of my friends and customers, but this is just right.
It’s a very very good day. All of my days are very very good. Some of them are Better! I hope that yours are too.

Jim

3 thoughts on “Little Boxes

  1. Thank you for this wonderful update. It was such a treat to hear how well you are feeling and the obvious joy you take in all your work. Loved the sounds of the little box with the turquoise stones in it. Would there be a photo anywhere to show this piece. I would love to take a peek at it. Keep taking care of yourself and love to read your updates!
    Jan~from California

    • Jan

      Thank you for the comments! I too love the little boxes. The photo on my blog is from a show I did a few years ago. All of those boxes sold at that show. Sorry. I’ll try to take a couple of photos of the ones I’m making now and send you before offering them. This morning I final sanded all of the pieces for about a dozen. I plan on starting assembly this afternoon.

      Thanks! Jim

Leave a Reply

