Home » Small Hand Tools » Broken Dog

Broken Dog

The dog is broken. Saturday Cat and I rode our bikes to Socorro for lunch. As I was slowing and turning into the parking lot of the restaurant, the front wheel suddenly slid to the left on sand and fine gravel. This caused the bike and me to be thrown to the ground into a curb leading into the lot. I managed to stand the bike up after determining that I did not seem to have broken bones. I did sustain minor bumps and scrapes, but nothing bad. The bike is different, unfortunately. We trailered it home then today trailered it to Chuck’s in Albuquerque. He’ll get cracking on the repairs. Though not substantial, it hurts me just knowing it’s not perfect right now. Last night Cat and I talked about making my bike a trike. Chuck and I talked at length about the subject, and some alternatives. He’ll give me details when we meet again next week. Right now, I’m leaning pretty heavily towards that solution. I am getting rather OLD – and I want the wind in my face blowing the long white chin whiskers sticking out of my helmet for a long long time….. More on this later – I’ll talk about my decision and plan, even if it’s just to repair the damages and stick with two wheels for my ride.
Looms. Little ones. Many of them. Everwhere! I continue to put in so much time and effort producing the 4 sizes of little looms I make. Today after returning from our trip I got another 200 of the Bird’s Eye Maple looms ready to oil. Tomorrow I work on packing a very very large order for a new commercial customer. Almost all of it is in stock, but I’ll be making a few custom notion boxes for him.
Yesterday I talked to a fiber business about presenting my work at a regional fiber event. The interest is strongly there, but I just can’t do consignment as requested, for such a situation. It is my considered opinion that consignments never work well, especially in larger scale. The closest I have came to consignments were sales thru art museums. The “investment” was insignicant, and it just felt good to have my work respected in that manner, even though quite small. I will still not ever consign. One dealer quite awhile back and I made a deal to take work to a show and pay for ALL of it afterwards. This person, after the show, wanted to return all of the unsold product. I did not accept that – and payment was finally made as we had agreed. There’s also a creep that still owes me over a grand from a deal of “pay in installments”. They did not. I’m screwed by this gross and ugly person. That’s why I will not ever in my life even consider such a situation again. That person will get what they deserve. I’m honest. They are not.
I’ll be selling my show trailer – it’s a Hawk 6′ x 12′ x 6-1/2′ enclosed, tandem axle, side door, ramp rear door, 3/4″ plywood inside and floor. Don’t need it anymore.
I remain sad that my bike is in the “hospital”. Chuck will get the repairs done shortly, and if I go the trike conversion route, he’ll have it done in a month or so! I’ll decide before next week when we meet……….
Later,
Jim

Leave a Reply

