Home » Small Hand Tools » The Old Buzzard

The Old Buzzard

Image

ImageHere are a couple of photos of the custom seat for my Big Dog Chopper.  It’s constructed on the Big Dog seat pan, gel support widened, and English leather.  It’s Very comfortable.  John Meador of Custom Interiors in Albuquerque is a real leather artist and I’m so happy he’s doing my seat work.  Chuck Zettner is going to finish the work he started to customize my bike.  He opened his own shop last week, and I hope that my job will be his first official one.  I had to retrieve my bike from Showstoppers as the work had just stopped – just like the name.  I do trust Chuck absolutely.  By the way, he had the best Chopper at the Los Angeles international show recently!  The category was officially won by a bagger – the reason why the show organizers permitted a bagger to enter in the chopper category is known only to them….

Cat’s Harley Davidson Ultra Classic that was supposed to be converted to a trike with a Lehman kit was also retrieved from Showstoppers.  She will have her trike, and it will not be another ten months…

Today Cat and I spent the day caulking and painting the first coat on the interior of the building we’re gonna use as our “Dog & Hog House”.  It’s 12′ x 12′ and had been used for another purpose – and fully constructed by us.  I did widen the door to 6′ to accommodate Cat’s trike – it’s going to be about 60″ wide.  DJ, our local handyman installed the insulation and plywood covering of the ceiling and walls yesterday.  He’s such a neat person and so capable.  I don’t “do” insulation….  I’ll post a photo of the building when the exterior changes are completed and painted!

By the way – “The Old Buzzard” is a nickname I acquired when I was with the Bexar County Purchasing Department in San Antonio, Texas from 1984-2003.  That phrase was my screen saver for years after an employee began to refer to me as “The Old Buzzard” as I was a stickler for doing things right all the time.  People began to give me renditions of buzzards, condors, and vultures.  I now have a collection of several hundred renditions of these important creatures.  An image of a Turkey Vulture neck/head will likely appear on the gas tank of my motorcycle when painted.   We’ll be renovating our office here at home – and the decorations will be displaying all of my buzzard, condor, and vulture images and art!  

We continue to have such magnificent fun!  And the “work” continues:

ImageJim

 

 

Leave a Reply

